Historical data for multiple days in one request ?

  • 41
  • Question
  • Updated 1 year ago
Is there a way to get historical data for multiple days in one request ?

There is hourly10day which returns an hourly forecast for the next 10 days.

Is there something similar for historical data ?

For history history_YYYYMMDD returns a summary of the observed weather for the specified date but is it possible to get history data from one date to another date.
Photo of santoshb

santoshb

  • 23 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes

Posted 7 years ago

  • 41
Photo of ZavDme

ZavDme

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I'm sending request to get historical data, but i can't understand from which station this history data are appeared?
Photo of fearless_fool

fearless_fool

  • 13 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
ZavDme: what request are you sending and what response are you getting? In answering your question, it would be useful to know those things! :)
Photo of ZavDme

ZavDme

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
For example:
http://api.wunderground.com/api/MyKey...

This XML file does not appear to have any style information associated with it. The document tree is shown below.

0.1

http://www.wunderground.com/weather/a...

history

April 1, 2000
2000
04
01
00
20
Europe/Brussels

March 31, 2000
2000
03
31
22
20
UTC

12:20 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
00
20
Europe/Brussels

10:20 PM GMT on March 31, 2000
2000
03
31
22
20
UTC

6.0
42.8
5.0
41.0
93
3.7
2.3
-9999.0
-9999.0
110
ESE
6.0
3.7
1005
29.68
-999
-999
-9999
-9999
-9999.00
-9999.00
Mostly Cloudy
mostlycloudy
0
0
0
0
0
0

<![CDATA[ METAR EBAW 312220Z 11002KT 6000 BKN012 06/05 Q1005 ]]>

12:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
00
50
Europe/Brussels

10:50 PM GMT on March 31, 2000
2000
03
31
22
50
UTC

6.0
42.8
5.0
41.0
93
3.7
2.3
-9999.0
-9999.0
90
East
6.0
3.7
1005
29.68
-999
-999
-9999
-9999
-9999.00
-9999.00
Mostly Cloudy
mostlycloudy
0
0
0
0
0
0

<![CDATA[ METAR EBAW 312250Z 09002KT 6000 BKN038 06/05 Q1005 ]]>

1:20 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
01
20
Europe/Brussels

11:20 PM GMT on March 31, 2000
2000
03
31
23
20
UTC

6.0
42.8
5.0
41.0
93
3.7
2.3
-9999.0
-9999.0
90
East
4.0
2.5
1005
29.68
-999
-999
-9999
-9999
-9999.00
-9999.00
Mostly Cloudy
mostlycloudy
0
0
0
0
0
0

<![CDATA[
METAR EBAW 312320Z 09002KT 4000 BR BKN038 06/05 Q1005
]]>

2:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
02
50
Europe/Brussels

12:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
00
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

3:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
03
50
Europe/Brussels

1:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
01
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

5:20 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
05
20
Europe/Brussels

3:20 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
03
20
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

5:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
05
50
Europe/Brussels

3:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
03
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

6:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
06
50
Europe/Brussels

4:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
04
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

7:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
07
50
Europe/Brussels

5:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
05
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

8:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
08
50
Europe/Brussels

6:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
06
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

9:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
09
50
Europe/Brussels

7:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
07
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

10:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
10
50
Europe/Brussels

8:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
08
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

11:50 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
11
50
Europe/Brussels

9:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
09
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

12:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
12
50
Europe/Brussels

10:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
10
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

1:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
13
50
Europe/Brussels

11:50 AM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
11
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

2:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
14
50
Europe/Brussels

12:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
12
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

3:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
15
50
Europe/Brussels

1:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
13
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

5:20 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
17
20
Europe/Brussels

3:20 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
15
20
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

5:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
17
50
Europe/Brussels

3:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
15
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

6:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
18
50
Europe/Brussels

4:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
16
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

7:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
19
50
Europe/Brussels

5:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
17
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

9:20 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
21
20
Europe/Brussels

7:20 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
19
20
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

10:20 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
22
20
Europe/Brussels

8:20 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
20
20
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

10:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
22
50
Europe/Brussels

8:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
20
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

11:50 PM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
23
50
Europe/Brussels

9:50 PM GMT on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
21
50
UTC

<![CDATA[ ]]>

12:20 AM CEST on April 01, 2000
2000
04
01
00
20
Europe/Brussels

0
0
0

0
0
0
6
42
5
41
1005.00
29.68
3
2
East
97
5.3
3.3
93
6
42
6
42
93
93
5
41
5
41
1005
29.68
1005
29.68
4
2
4
2
6.0
3.7
4.0
2.5
0
23
0
0.0
0.00
3Or6HourObs

There is no link to weather station that provides this data in the response

What station is provides historical data? Airport station or something else?
Photo of ZavDme

ZavDme

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
The same problem with the forecast or hourly request - no weather station which provides data
Photo of Brendan Hayes

Brendan Hayes, Official Rep

  • 962 Posts
  • 124 Reply Likes
Use the /geolookup/ feature and the history comes from the first airport listed.

http://api.wunderground.com/api/KEY/g...
Photo of ZavDme

ZavDme

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Thanks
Photo of teppattra

teppattra

  • 4 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
I try to use history in geolookup for city in Sweden but all I get is history weather in Stockholm not the city I asked for. How can I get more accurate data.
Photo of palantirvalhalla

palantirvalhalla

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
You could easily rate-limit these requests. I'm extremely frustrated wunderground does not provide these features in their API. PLEASE ADD THIS CAPABILITY!
Photo of KieronUCL

KieronUCL

  • 1 Post
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hi,

I'm an MSc Economics student at University College London, and I really need some help with getting data.

Basically, I am looking for data from 2011 Q1 to 2013 Q1, for snow, wind and rain details for all US Airports.

Can anyone tell me if this is possible to do for free? Please note I have zero experience in programming so I'm beginning to think my project may be impossible for me to do.
Photo of giddo4all

giddo4all

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
I am trying to get daily historical data for Chicago to include Low Temp, High tep, Humidity and Precipitation from 2001 - 2014 (14 years)

I will appreciate suggestions on this..

Thank you.
Photo of fouroneone

fouroneone

  • 3 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Easiest place I know is Utah State's climate Center. You pick the station and the period and which information and they email it to you automatically. You'd have to do a little analysis to get the MAX/MIN.

http://climate.usurf.usu.edu/mapGUI/m...
Photo of giddo4all

giddo4all

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Whao! Thanks for your input. I got to the site, selected the Station and I downloaded it.
Photo of fearless_fool

fearless_fool

  • 13 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
@giddo4all: Assuming the daily weather at ORD is close enough for your needs (rather than taking an average over multiple stations), AND assuming you know how to do a little web programming, the fastest way would be like to make a series of inquiries, one for each month:

http://www.wunderground.com/history/a...
http://www.wunderground.com/history/a...
...
http://www.wunderground.com/history/a...

Then merge them into one big CVS file and extract the columns that you need.

Hope this helps.
Photo of giddo4all

giddo4all

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
@fearless_fool,

Thank you for the input.
The merging will work but I have tried to use Python such inquiry but I get something different from how its is displayed on wunderground site; I seem to get for multiple cities and the data is for just one day.

If you have a script for that or suggestion on how to write to fulfill your suggestion I will appreciate it if you share.

Thank you.
Photo of fearless_fool

fearless_fool

  • 13 Posts
  • 7 Reply Likes
@giddo4all - writing the code for you is a beyond what I can do for you .... ;) but try typing in the URL I gave you into a browser -- the result should be self-explanatory. If Python is giving you different results than what you see in the browser, the problem is with your Python code and not the URL.

Hope this helps.
Photo of giddo4all

giddo4all

  • 4 Posts
  • 1 Reply Like
Thanks
Photo of Uday

Uday

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Hello all ,
Is there a documentation source for different possible web requests ?

For Eg: I would like to pull out hourly historical weather data for a couple of years for a given latitude and longitude. And I also want to be able to choose which data sets I pull out.

In Wunderground documentation - the web request that is provided is

http://api.wunderground.com/api/Your_...

- How do I change this to get hourly historical information for like say 3 years ?
- How do I change this to get information for a specific latitude and longitude and not a place per say like San Francisco

Regards
Uday
Photo of Uday

Uday

  • 2 Posts
  • 0 Reply Likes
Provided it is expected that we are to only use the planner ?

( http://api.wunderground.com/api/Your_... )

- Does this allow latitude and longitude input ?
- How to restrict the data sets that re being returned to only the ones that I am interested in ?

Regards
Uday
Photo of Tim Roche

Tim Roche, Official Rep

  • 337 Posts
  • 44 Reply Likes
for all query types see the documentation here
http://www.wunderground.com/weather/api/d/docs?d=data/geolookup  those examples will work with most requests
You man not request history for more than 1 day at a time.